Rickie Fowler loses ball in tree, leading to costly penalty

Rickie Fowler loses ball in tree, leading to costly penalty
PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. -- The rules of golf got the best of Rickie Fowler on Friday and helped contribute to him missing the cut at the Players Championship. Fowler was cruising along, having gotten to 5 under par for his round and safely inside the 36-hole cut line, when he hit his driver at the par-4 sixth (his 15th) into a tree. The ball never came down. Even though spectators saw the ball fly into the tree and nobody reported seeing it drop to the ground, because it could not be absolutely identified as Fowler's ball, he had to treat it as lost. That meant returning to the tee and hitting a third shot, resulting in a double-bogey. When he sailed his tee shot into the water on the next hole, another double bogey resulted, sending Fowler from 3 under par to 1 over in two holes. And that is where he ended up, failing to make a birdie over his final two holes. "Obviously didn't make a great swing, but it's 5 yards right of the... 
Read The Rest at ABC News: Sports- (opens a new tab)





Pages

Archive